Close this search box.

Pickleball Kitchen Rules Of Non-Volley Zone – Complete Guide

Pickleball Kitchen Rules

If you are a beginner and have heard people saying, “keep away from Kitchen.” But what is the meaning of this saying? When we talk about the Kitchen, it is almost a seven feet long line. But what is this rule? Let’s take a closer view of the pickleball Kitchen Rule

What is that Kitchen? Whenever we talk about the Kitchen or non-volley zone in pickleball, it is a trip people up and whether or not you are new to the game. This is the very first time that you have seen the game or are starting to get into it. This article is going to help you to understand the pickleball rule. So you will always understand. So, get started. 

By giving you the land, here. The area under the front of the net is called the Kitchen. You have a kitchen on both front sides of the court. The Kitchen is a colloquial term, the real term is the non-volley zone, but most people say Kitchen. Here is the general kitchen rule to understand the common basic level. You can not be standing in this zone. Volley a ball at the same time. It gets a little bit more complicated, but the first things you need to use to understand what a volley is are. A volley is a shot you hit and has not bounced yet.

All Pickleball Kitchen Rules for Non Volley Zone

Notice whenever you hit the balls, they have yet to bounce and are coming straight to you. It is important to understand that the volley is a shot that has not bounced yet. But regardless of what kind of shot you make. This is a very common thing. So whether or not the volley was way up here as an overhead or way down. Here is a soft shot that does not matter. It’s only if the ball has yet to bounce. That’s very, very important. 

  • Kitchen Rule of Pickleball with Volley

While hitting the volley, stand outside of the Kitchen. It does not matter how high the ball is or it does not matter if you are hitting above the Kitchen. As long as your feet are not touching the kitchen or kitchen line, then you are good to go. However, it gets complicated. We mean, of course, it is right. 

It also counts if your volley takes you into the Kitchen because of your momentum. It is a fault if you go into the Kitchen while volleying the ball because of your momentum. So be careful and make a volley shot at a balanced state. 

If you volleyed the ball and you got balanced, and momentum completely stopped, and you came into the Kitchen, that is okay and is not your fault. To be safe, you must reset into a balanced state, and then you are good to go. 

If you’ve got your foot into the Kitchen and a volley is coming over, that would be a normal fault. Because you could not be in the Kitchen and step out and then volley a ball before that foot lands. 

  • Kitchen Rule with Airborne Pickleball

While standing in the volley, you can not hit the pickleball because volleying within the non-volley zone is subject to a fault. Regarding your only foot into the non-volley zone, you can not hit the ball with one foot standing in the Kitchen. It is also a fault if your cap falls into the Kitchen while playing the shot. 

  • Pickleball Rules Kitchen with Bouncing Ball

As for hitting the bounced ball while standing in the Kitchen, you can hit the ball without worrying about the fault. You are not allowed to pick a volley in the Kitchen area. You can also enter the Kitchen area while hitting a bounced ball that bounces firstly into the non-volley zone. 

  • Kitchen Rule when Standing within the Kitchen

You can be in the Kitchen as much as you want as long as you are not volleying the ball. Realistically in terms of the game’s rules, you can stand and play the game. Now, do you want to do that? Not. The reason is while someone volleys the ball and you hit it, that is their fault. That is why you see people behind the kitchen line because if a hard ball is coming your way, you will have to volley it, which means if you are here, it’s automatically at fault. However, what if the ball bounces? If the ball bounces, you can do whatever you want. You can step into the Kitchen. Remember, it is only for the volley. 

So a couple of rapid-fire things here. It’s very important to understand that it doesn’t matter where the ball lands; it doesn’t matter where it is. It only matters if it has bounced or not. That is really how you understand the Kitchen. It’s based on the principle again that if you hit shots while standing in the non-volley zone. What you are concerned with is whether you are volleying the ball. 

Frequently Asked Questions

What Things you not to do in the Pickleball Kitchen?

In the game of pickleball, you are strictly opposed to not volleying the ball in Kitchen. If you strike the ball in the kitchen , you must let it bounce.

Can you hit the ball out of the air in Kitchen?

You are not allowed to hit volleys. It is absolutely allowed to hit the ball with the paddle striking over the kitchen zone. 

Can we jump and Land in the Pickleball Kitchen?

You can not stand or touch the kitchen in pickleball. If you volley the pickleball inside the kitchen it is considered as a fault. 

Ending Sentences About Pickleball Kitchen Rules

In a nutshell, you can not be in the Kitchen and volley a ball simultaneously, regardless of how soft your volley or how hard tha volley is. If it has yet to bounce, that volley you also can not let your momentum from your volley take you into the Kitchen. This includes when you are stabilizing yourself and trying to keep yourself from falling over. If you volley the ball and that’s what caused it, that’s the fault. You also must have been out of the Kitchen and volleyed a ball. You have to get into the bounce state and then volley first. These are the simple Pickleball kitchen rules. If you are new to pickleball, go try it out.


Related Posts

Can You Switch Hands In Pickleball

How Can You Switch Hands In Pickleball?

Can you Switch Hands in Pickleball? Pickleball is a growing sport that combines elements of tennis, badminton, and table tennis.

Hot News



Scroll to Top